Papercutting with love

Hi everyone

I have a passion for papercutting so today I thought i’d give it a break from attempting to make a photo quilt to show you all how to papercut. Once you start believe me its very addictive! I have made quite a few different ones in the past 3 months and family who received them seem to have been happy with them 🙂

The first thing to do is decide on a design. When choosing a design it is best to make sure every line is joined. Because I really can’t draw to save my life I decided to check out one of my favourite embroidery websites to see if they had any embroidery designs I could adjust to turn into a papercut.

So after searching www.urbanthreads.com (and buying more designs than I intended to) I found a relatively simple one that I knew I could adjust to make it work.

I printed out the design and sat down with a pencil to colour in the bits I won’t be cutting so that I knew before I start cutting exactly where I need to cut.

Image

Once I had decided on this I grabbed some greaseproof paper and started tracing the design out and adjusting it so that all the letters were touching either each other or part of the cogs.

Image

Here it is all traced out and adjusted

Image

Then i grabbed some black card turned the greaseproof over and traced back over it to leave the design on the card. I did go over it again (just on the card) with my pencil as I learnt the hard way that once you start cutting the lines kept rubbing off on my arm!

So here it is all ready to cut.

Image

You can print directly onto your card if you wish just remember to flip the image or set the printer to mirror image. If you cut it from the back it gives cleaner looking lines when you turn it over.

Next I grabbed my trusty scalpel (I use an x acto knife with a no.11 blade) and my self healing cutting board and its time to start cutting.Image

A tip I found online is to start with the smallest holes that need cutting out, so in my case it was the holes in the letters. Another tip cut the inside pieces first and leave the outside until last, you’ll want as much of the card left as possible to turn it as you cut, so by starting with the smallest pieces and working your way out you have the edge of the card free to hold onto whilst you cut.

The easiest way to cut the card is to turn as you go, if for example you are cutting a circle or curved edge I tend to turn my whole self healing board as I go.

Here it is flipped over to the right side with the smallest holes cut out.

Image

Now it’s beginning to take shape.

Image

And here it is fully cut out.

Image

Image

Now all there is left is to back it with some decorative paper and frame it. I use a repositionable spray adhesive to attach it to the backing paper. Just spray it on the back, lay your papercut on the backing paper and press down, and because mine is a repositionable spray it means if I don’t have it in the right place I can gently lift it off and reposition it.

Different backgrounds can give it a different effect, here are some examples.

Image

Hope you enjoyed this little tutorial and happy cutting everyone!

Now i’m off to buy a frame.

🙂

Hi, I am a mother of 3 who loves sewing and more recently papercutting! I mainly make papercut cards but also do some gorgeous cuts that can be framed. My favourite quote at the moment has to be: Don't be functional....be creative!!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Gift ideas, Nichola's Tutorials, Paper Craft
3 comments on “Papercutting with love
  1. Thanks for sharing Nichola, I can’t wait to have a go! x

  2. this site says:

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

  3. Thank you so much Nichola. This tutorial is great. Sammy x

What did you think of this post? Have your say here...

Visit Our New Site To See The Latest Posts

cavernofcraftiness.com Please Click On The Image Above To Be Redirected

The Red Spotty Mushroom

Moor Style Creations

Rhinestones And Ribbon

Pleasantly Plump Baby Boutique

Follow on Bloglovin
