Baby Bib Tutorial

Bloglovin

Hey Everyone, I thought I would share this great tutorial I came across today, so here it is….

Tutorial and images by – Gingercake

My sweet little Marion is almost 4 months old. She is precious but the girl can slobber! And spit up all over me and her clothes several times a day. My other babies were not big spitters/ slobberers so I always looked a little sideways at the moms whose babies had bibs on all the time. I found a small bib pattern I drafted years ago that worked great for her size and should be good for a few months at least!
This has been saving me from changing her clothes like 10 times a day.
Also, I try to contribute to craft hope projects when I can and figured I could make extras and send over bibs for their current project. So even if you don’t have a baby to sew for right now, making these little bibs is fun and fast and you can contribute your work to craft hope’s excellent cause!

20130422-222011.jpg
I made mine reversible and with pearl snaps. This way baby can slobber (my 8 year old, who is always dying to hold her, says “MOOOOOMMM! She slobbered on me again! Come and get her please!”) on one side and then she can slobber on the other side too. OR, you can switch the bib around to match her outfit if you care about that (and I admit that I do…).

20130422-222057.jpg
First gather your materials~
2 pieces of cotton fabric that measure 9.5″ x 12″
1 piece of cotton batting that measures 9.5″ x 12″ – flannel can substitute
pearl snaps (or velcro, regular snaps, or ties)
chopstick to poke out corners
sewing machine, coordinating thread, scissors, & iron
optional- rotary cutter & self healing mat

1. Print pattern pieces, cut them out and tape A & B together.
Download Gingercake Little Bib Pattern Pieces

20130422-222244.jpg
2. Use pattern piece to cut out mirror image pieces of the 2 cottons. This is important since the sides of the pattern are not symmetrical! Maybe layer the fabrics right sides facing and cut them out together. Also cut out a piece of matching cotton batting.

20130422-222445.jpg

20130422-222451.jpg
3. Layer the materials together- starting with batting, then a piece of cotton face up and then the other piece of cotton face down. Pin together. Sew the 3 pieces together with a 1/4″ seam allowance and leave a 3″ opening to turn the piece right side out. Trim the seams down to 1/8″ except at the opening.

20130422-222539.jpg
4. Turn the piece right sides out and poke out tip with a chopstick. Iron it nice and flat and match up the opening edges. I use a piece of steam a seam to close up my opening but if you don’t have any around, just be careful when you top stitch. Top stich around the bib about 1/4″ from the edge.

20130422-222620.jpg
5. Follow the directs to attach the pearl snaps. Make sure you have one side of the snap facing up and the other facing down!

20130422-222705.jpg
Now you have a pretty little bib! One thing I noticed is that a quick ironing after washing seems to shape them up really nicely. If you want to put in the extra time, you could easily quilt the top to give it some added interest and probably eliminate that ironing after washing. I made a bunch at once and it was so fast and easy!
This tutorial and all images above belong to Gingercake
What a great tutorial! I’ll have a go at these when I get chance, I have a stack of bandanna bibs to make first though!
Hope you have enjoyed this tutorial.
Have a great day!
20130530-142226.jpg

Hi! My name is Sammy. I am 29 years old and I'm from Staffordshire, England. I love learning new creative skills and techniques, Over the last year I have been learning to sew and embroider by machine and now I'm a little addicted! I also love making beaded items, enjoy nail art and doing a spot of DIY! I started a blog along with my friend Tracy earlier this year with wordpress but following it's growth and success we have now opened a website and have begun to self host our blog. Please pop by and check it out cavernofcraftiness.com This will be the first blog I have worked on so I am a little nervous but also very excited. I hope you enjoy the tutorials, product reviews etc that myself and the rest of the cavern share with you. If there is anything you would like to see on this blog please feel free to send any ideas, requests or suggestion to us at - info@cavernofcraftfiness.com Have a great day x

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in baby and Kids, Sewing, Tutorials By Other Bloggers
7 comments on “Baby Bib Tutorial
  1. Rob O'Neill says:

    These are adorable reversible bibs and nice pattern too! Everything that’s made by our own creativity are very precious and meaningful, just like this one. Great job and this simply means that your effort is all worth it.

  2. Reversible bibs are such a great idea. Handmade products are wonderful because it allows you to be creative and make something as individual as your baby. I really like the pink bird print, it is very cute.

  3. Julissa says:

    Yes! Finally something about best steam irons for
    sewing.

  4. 8B Creative says:

    Lovely Bibs πŸ™‚ I will definately will have a go and make one!

What did you think of this post? Have your say here...

Visit Our New Site To See The Latest Posts

cavernofcraftiness.com Please Click On The Image Above To Be Redirected

The Red Spotty Mushroom

Moor Style Creations

Rhinestones And Ribbon

Pleasantly Plump Baby Boutique

Follow on Bloglovin
