Play Dough Tutorial

Bloglovin

Righty, I’ve never blogged or attempted a tutorial so this is my very first one and it will be very basic as I’m just dipping my toes in the water.

Now I know a lot of you (mostly mums) will already know how to make play dough and that there are loads of versions but I made my first batch up today (of this version) because it was suggested by my sons preschool.

They gave me the following recipe…..

2 cups of plain flour
2 cups of water
1 cup of salt
2 tablespoons of oil (2×17.5ml = 35ml)
4 teaspoons of cream of tartar
Food colouring if wanted

“Mix all in the ingredients in a pan. Mix to a smooth batter then heat gently on the hob stirring. It will thicken and leave the sides of the pan when ready. Tip out onto the side and knead quickly for a few seconds then cover and allow to cool. Store in an airtight tub in the fridge”.

The recipe says cups so that’s what I used, not a mug. I literally chucked it all in, I wasn’t elegant and I used a stock pot as it makes quite a large batch. It also looked like a witches clotted albino concoction bubbling away, *yuk*. It heated up and thickened very quickly, probably took a couple of minutes and it was quite tiring to stir but so so easy. I added quite a splodge of Dr Oetker food colouring but it didn’t do anything really so I will try some better food colour paste or gel next time.

It was lovely kneading something so warm and all those clotted unsightly lumpy bits disappeared straight away.

I tipped it out onto our table and we all grabbed some. My son is having speach therapy so I think he said bear when I asked him what he was going to make but we ended up making a cat which turned out being a duck 😀 We rolled lots of lumps and balls and generally squished quite a bit. After imprinting the back of my hand into the play dough for the littlies to see I then thought it would be a good to imprint my sons ear to show him. He thought that was amazing and took imprints of lots of his body (that was covered in clothing!). I think I might have to explain when he goes into nursery next before he starts smooshing his face into….

danielles paly dopugh pics

20130520-134326.jpg

20130520-134730.jpg

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Crafty Kids, Danielle's Tutorials, Other Arts and Crafts

What did you think of this post? Have your say here...

Visit Our New Site To See The Latest Posts

cavernofcraftiness.com Please Click On The Image Above To Be Redirected

The Red Spotty Mushroom

Moor Style Creations

Rhinestones And Ribbon

Pleasantly Plump Baby Boutique

Follow on Bloglovin
