Sewing roll

So pondering what to make for a present I decided a sewing roll would do the job so here’s my tutorial

First I decided on a size of the main body. Mine was 30 x 20 cm I added 3 cm to these measurements to ensure I had 1.5 cm seam allowance on each side.

My template was 15 x 20 cm so I placed it on the fold. You will need 2 of these plus wadding same size slightly trimmed.

CIMG9857

I placed the smaller pockets all with seam allowance added onto 2 lots of fabric because they will all be lined.

CIMG9859

I also cut the pockets from interfacing to give them some sturdiness.

CIMG9861

I cut a needle book from felt. This was only area that didn’t require extra for seam allowance.

CIMG9860

I wanted a pocket for some threads so decided to box the corners. To keep the original dimensions I added 2 cm to the width measurement to do this. Measure in from the side & up from the bottom 2 cm & mark a small box in the corner.

CIMG9866

Cut this out.

CIMG9868

Folding it so the 2 cut edges of the cut out met pin & sew.

CIMG9870 CIMG9871

Do the outer & lining separate.

Now you need to create your pockets. Place either one with right side of fabrics together with interfacing layered on top & sew around 2 sides & the bottom.

Once sewn turn out & neaten corners. Turn the raw edges in at top & sew to neaten.

CIMG9881

Now were ready to attach them to the main body.

For the thread pocket I sewed the bottom part of bottom onto body on the inside then sewed the edges onto the body on the outside.

CIMG9888

Once pockets were on I placed the scissors into the pocket & pinned to tab to keep them in place above it to ensure was placed correctly

CIMG9884

I added buttons to this.

At this stage you need to decide how to fasten your roll. You can use velcro, buttons, magnets or a tie. I chose a tie, I just made a tie from a strip of fabric turning raw edges in & top stitching.

Layer the inner section to the outer right sides together sandwiching the tie between layers & laying wadding on top of all that.

Sew around leaving small gap for turning.

CIMG9890

Turn out & top stitch closing the gap up as you go.

CIMG9891

Here’s the roll I did

CIMG9895

CIMG9930

You can use same idea for jewellery & other items. You can also use up scraps for this.

TRACY 🙂

 

 

I am a mum of 2 boys and 1 girl.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Gift ideas, Gifts, Jewellery, Recycling, Upcycling and Scrap Busting, Sewing, Tracy's Tutorials

What did you think of this post? Have your say here...

Visit Our New Site To See The Latest Posts

cavernofcraftiness.com Please Click On The Image Above To Be Redirected

The Red Spotty Mushroom

Moor Style Creations

Rhinestones And Ribbon

Pleasantly Plump Baby Boutique

Follow on Bloglovin
